LOFT News and Happenings

LOFT 30th Anniversary Benefit Gala Awards Ceremony

blog linkSeptember 7th, 2013  6:30pm-11:30pm
Crowne Plaza Hotel White Plains

At each LOFT Gala, we honor individuals in our community who have made a difference. First with our LOFT Community Activist Award, and also with our Edie Windsor and Thea Spyer Equality Award, which goes to an individual who has contributed to our struggle for equality.


The LOFT’s Edie Windsor and Thea Spyer Equality AwardCathy Marino Thomas
Cathy Marino-Thomas

Edie Windsor will be on hand to personally greet attendees and give the award to this year’s Edie Windsor and Thea Spyer Equality Award. This year’s recipient is Cathy Marino-Thomas, former Co-Chair of Marriage Equality USA. The award was established by The LOFT to honor those who emulate Edie’s tenacity, courage, and mettle in fighting for LGBT equality.


The LOFT’s Community Activist Award
JoannPrinzivalliJoann Prinzivalli
The LOFT is honored to be presenting its Community Activist Award to former LOFT board member and transgender rights activist Joann Prinzivalli. The award is presented annually to a member of the community who has demonstrated marked involvement and activism, often going beyond the call of duty in advocacy and activism towards the achievement of equality for the LGBT community.